Aigues Mortes : top historical city number 1 of the Camargue colossal

Aigues Mortes

Aigues Mortes : the historical fortified city  

It is a small village nestled in the Natural Park of Camargue, a magical place to stroll along the medieval ramparts surrounded by lagoons.

Where to find

This famous city of France is located in the Occitanie region, which occupies a large part of southern France, up to the border with Spain.  To the east, just a few steps from the city, lies the Camargue Park, where it is possible to admire panoramas rich in suggestions and unseen natural beauties.

 

Aigues Mortes

The particularity of the city

Aigues Mortes is famous in France for its historic fortified walls, which still preserve and surround the entire historic downtown area. 

 A few steps from the walls, in the surrounding marshy area, there are also large salt marshes, which give the city its name and they surround the city and form a perfect outline to the walls and historical monuments present in the place.

The city offers many historical sites, all located more or less close to each other, so it doesn't take long to visit the places and then move to the Camargue Natural Park to enjoy breathtaking natural views and relax with nature.

 

The historical and cultural offer

The places of interest in the city are :

 The tower of Constance

Aigues Mortes

Built in the thirteenth century and 30 meters high, to which is added the small turret of 11 meters built on its roof, is directly connected to the historical walls of the city, by a stone bridge that spans a small ditch. 

The tower is accessible on foot and is spread over two floors, with impressive staircases inside that allow you to reach the roof to enjoy the highest view of the whole city and the surrounding countryside. 

Inside the second floor of the Tower of Constance, in the 17th century, the Huguenots, the French Calvinist protestants, were imprisoned.  The Tower of Constance, wanted by Louis IX, had however for main purpose to offer a protection to the city of Aigues Mortes and a point of observation on what was happening in the surroundings.

 

The saltworks of Aigues Mortes

Aigues Mortes

From the top of the ramparts, but also on the way into town, one cannot fail to notice the salt pans of Aigues Mortes.  About one kilometer from the city, the large pink pools stand out against the high white mountains of salt that glisten in the sun.

If you are very attracted by this natural spectacle, it is possible to visit it in several ways. The most practical and quickest is certainly to use the small train that ventures into the salt flats and that, equipped with a guide, explains the history of its birth and how salt is still extracted from the waters that flow into this system of channels and locks.

The train tour lasts about an hour and a quarter and at the end it is possible to visit the small salt mine museum.

The ramparts and gates of the city

Aigues Mortes

Among the peculiarities of Aigues Mortes are the long walls that surround the entire historic center; their construction dates back to the second half of the 13th century. 

The six access gates to the city almost regularly interrupt the more than 1,600 meters of richly decorated walls with towers built on the walls themselves.

Place Saint-Louis

Aigues Mortes
 

Dominated by Notre Dame des Sablons.  The square, in the center of the city, offers around it a multitude of shops and restaurants, and in the center stands the statue of Saint-Louis. 

A few steps away is the church, which is one of the oldest monuments in the city and dates back to 1246, although the current Gothic style of Notre Dame des Sablons is also the result of various interventions over the centuries. 

The most important restorations took place in the 18th and 20th centuries, when it was closed during the French Revolution.  At the time, it housed a barracks and a salt depot.

Chapels of the Penitents

Aigues Mortes

A few steps from the church are two chapels not far from each other, dating from the seventeenth century and built of limestone.  The difference between the two churches is that one belonged to the Grey Penitents and the other to the Whites, two distinct and opposite monastic orders. 

Both are privately owned but open to visitors; the Chapelle des Pénitents Gris is located in a lovely garden on the Place Paul Bert and has a single rectangular nave inside, dominated by a huge and richly decorated altarpiece representing the Passion of Christ.

 

A taste of the Natural Park of Camargue

Aigues Mortes

At the end of the visit of the cultural heritage of the city, you can go to the Natural Park of Camargue, one of the most beautiful places that France offers, imposing itself as the biggest area of wild plains of all Europe. 

From a naturalistic point of view, it is one of the wildest and best preserved places: here migratory birds can rest and feed, while the native fauna and flora live in a protected and safeguarded territory.  The whole western part of the Camargue is full of stables, riding schools and farms offering horseback riding. 

Indeed, the fame of the white horses of the Camargue is such that it has become a tourist emblem.  The same goes for the black bulls and the pink flamingos.  A real earthly paradise where you can admire nature in all its beauty and fully enjoy your afternoon in contact with it!

Do not miss this fortified historical city full of beautiful monuments, all within walking distance of the Natural Park of Camargue, where you can immerse yourself at the end of the city tour!

If you wish to immerse yourself in the historical, natural and sporting beauties of France, visit our website https://planetazur.com/activites-tours/ where you will find many itineraries and experiences that will make you love the region completely!

Share :

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
LinkedIn
en_USEnglish

Aigues Mortes : top citè historique numéro 1 de la colossal Camarguaise

Aigues Mortes

Aigues Mortes : la cité historique fortifiée  

C’est un petit village niché dans le Parc Naturel de Camargue, un lieu magique pour flâner le long des remparts médiévaux entourés de lagunes.

Où se trouve

Cette célèbre ville de France est située dans la région Occitanie, qui occupe une grande partie du sud de la France, jusqu’à la frontière avec l’Espagne.  A l’est, à quelques pas de la ville, s’étend le Parc de Camargue, où il est possible d’admirer des panoramas riches en suggestions et des beautés naturelles inédites.

 

Aigues Mortes

La particularité de la ville

Aigues Mortes est célèbre en France pour ses murs fortifiés historiques, qui conservent et entourent encore tout le centre-ville historique. 

 A quelques pas des remparts, dans la zone marécageuse environnante, se trouvent également de grands marais salants, qui donnent son nom à la ville et ils entourent la ville et forment un contour parfait aux remparts et monuments historiques présents sur le lieu.

La ville offre de nombreux sites historiques, tous situés plus ou moins proches les uns des autres, il ne faut donc pas longtemps pour visiter les lieux puis se déplacer vers le Parc Naturel de Camargue pour profiter de vues naturelles à couper le souffle et se détendre au contact de la nature.

 

L’offre historique et culturelle

Les lieux d’intérêt de la ville sont :

 La tour de Constance

Aigues Mortes

Construite au XIIIe siècle et haute de 30 mètres, à laquelle s’ajoute celle de la petite tourelle de 11 mètres construite sur son toit, est directement reliée aux remparts historiques de la ville, par un pont de pierre qui enjambe c’est un petit fossé. 

La tour est accessible à pied et est répartie sur deux étages, avec des escaliers impressionnants à l’intérieur qui vous permettent d’atteindre le toit pour profiter du point de vue le plus élevé sur toute la ville et la campagne environnante. 

À l’intérieur du deuxième étage de la tour de Constance, au XVIIe siècle, les huguenots, les protestants calvinistes français, ont été emprisonnés.  La Tour de Constance, voulue par Louis IX, avait pourtant pour but principal d’offrir une protection à la ville d’Aigues Mortes et un point d’observation sur ce qui se passait aux alentours.

 

Les salines d’Aigues Mortes

Aigues Mortes

Du haut des remparts, mais aussi en arrivant vers la ville, on ne peut manquer de remarquer les salines d’Aigues Mortes.  À environ un kilomètre de la ville, les grandes piscines roses se détachent sur de hautes montagnes blanches de sel qui scintillent au soleil.

Si vous êtes très attiré par ce spectacle naturel, il est possible de le visiter de plusieurs manières. Le plus pratique et le plus rapide est certainement d’utiliser le petit train qui s’aventure dans les salines et qui, muni d’un guide, explique l’histoire de sa naissance et comment le sel est encore extrait des eaux qui se jettent dans ce système de canaux et d’écluses.

La visite en train dure environ une heure et quart et à la fin il est possible, par la suite, de visiter le petit musée des mines de sel.

Les remparts et les portes de la ville

Aigues Mortes

Parmi les particularités d’Aigues Mortes figurent les longs murs qui entourent tout le centre historique ;  leur construction remonte à la seconde moitié du XIIIe siècle. 

Les six portes d’accès à la ville interrompent presque régulièrement les plus de 1 600 mètres de murs richement décorés avec des tours construites sur les murs eux-mêmes.

Place Saint-Louis

Aigues Mortes
 

Dominée par Notre Dame des Sablons.  La place, au centre de la ville, offre autour d’elle une multitude de commerces et de restaurants, et au centre se dresse la statue de Saint-Louis. 

A quelques pas se trouve l’église, qui est l’un des monuments les plus anciens de la ville et qui date de 1246, bien que le style gothique actuel de Notre Dame des Sablons soit également le résultat de diverses interventions menées au cours des siècles. 

Les restaurations les plus importantes ont eu lieu aux XVIIIe et XXe siècles, lors de sa fermeture pendant la Révolution française.  Il abritait à l’époque une caserne et un dépôt de sel.

Chapelles des Pénitents

Aigues Mortes

A quelques pas de l’église se trouvent deux chapelles non loin l’une de l’autre, datant du XVIIe siècle et construites en calcaire.  La différence entre les deux églises est que l’une appartenait aux Pénitents Gris et l’autre aux Blancs, deux ordres monastiques distincts et opposés. 

Les deux sont des propriétés privées mais ouvertes aux visiteurs;  La Chapelle des Pénitents Gris est située dans un joli jardin de la place Paul Bert et possède à l’intérieur une seule nef rectangulaire, dominée par un immense retable richement décoré représentant la Passion du Christ.

 

Un avant-goût du Parc Naturel de Camargue

Aigues Mortes

A la fin de la visite du patrimoine culturel de la ville, vous pourrez vous diriger vers le Parc Naturel de Camargue, l’un des plus beaux endroits qu’offre la France, s’imposant comme la plus grande zone de plaines sauvages de toute l’Europe. 

D’un point de vue naturaliste, c’est l’un des endroits les plus sauvages et les mieux préservés : ici les oiseaux migrateurs peuvent se reposer et se nourrir, tandis que la faune et la flore indigènes vivent dans un territoire protégé et sauvegardé.  Toute la partie ouest de la Camargue regorge d’écuries, de centres équestres et de fermes proposant des promenades à cheval. 

En effet, la renommée des chevaux blancs de Camargue est telle qu’elle en a fait aujourd’hui un emblème touristique.  Il en va de même pour les taureaux noirs et les flamants roses.  Un véritable paradis terrestre où vous pourrez admirer la nature dans toute sa beauté et profiter pleinement de votre après-midi à son contact !

Ne manquez surtout pas cette cité historique fortifiée regorgeant de beaux monuments, tous accessibles à pied du Parc Naturel de Camargue, où vous pourrez vous immerger à la fin du tour de ville !

Si vous souhaitez vous immerger dans les beautés historiques, naturelles et sportives de la France, visitez notre site web https://planetazur.com/activites-tours/ , où vous trouverez de nombreux itinéraires et expériences qui vous feront aimer complètement la région !

Partager :

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
LinkedIn
fr_FRFrench