Avignon

Avignon and its splendours

Avignon is a city where history is present at every turn. Declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site, it is also known as the "City of the Popes", as it hosted several popes within its walls in the 14th century.

It is a city with an impressive architectural heritage that takes you back in time. Everywhere you will find the ideal combination of modernity and the ancient essence that it has managed to maintain to this day.

Within its walls you will find spectacular buildings that bear witness to times gone by. Sublime structures such as the Palais des Papes, the Palais des Monnaies, the Notre-Dame-des-Doms Cathedral or the Petit Palais Museum will take your breath away with their timeless beauty.

 

Our activities in Avignon

There are many charming places to visit in Avignon:

The Palais des Papes which is located on the Place of Palais Avignon is undoubtedly the essential site for visiting the city. It is a Gothic-style fortress that served as a residence for the popes in the 14th century. Its architectural beauty is the ideal setting to experience unforgettable moments. Very close to the Palais des Papes is the cathédrale Notre-Dame-des-Doms, whose original structure dates back to the 12th century. Since then, it has undergone several modifications, but it retains the historic aura that characterizes the city.

The square surrounding the palace also offers other beautiful architectural attractions. Enjoy a cultural visit to the Petit Palais Museum, a former archbishop's residence that now functions as a museum of painting and sculpture with exceptional works.

The Rocher des Doms, located in the city's original location, has now become a magnificent hanging garden with spectacular views over the Rhone that will enchant those who visit. The famous Pont d'Avignon offers another ideal setting for memorable walks.

It is one of the few French cities that still retains its fortified walls. The ramparts of Avignon are a real spectacle, stretching over 4km and offering tourists a glimpse of the 14th century.

Its multiple doors and towers compose beautiful images that seem frozen in time, to offer its visitors the perfect setting to travel into the past. Another must-see is the historic center.

Stroll through its streets and visit places like the Place de l'Horloge, located in the heart of the city. If you want to enjoy an unforgettable view of the city, you can visit the Rocher des Doms park for the best panoramic views.

Of course, you can't miss a visit to the Halles market, for an exquisite gastronomic experience at the hands of its inhabitants.

Avignon

Avignon et ses splendeurs

Avignon est une ville où l’histoire est présente à chaque coin de rue. Déclarée Patrimoine de l’Humanité par l’UNESCO, elle est également connue sous le nom de Cité des Papes, pour avoir accueilli dans ses murs plusieurs pontifes au cours du XIVe siècle.

C’est une ville au patrimoine architectural impressionnant qui vous fait voyager dans le temps. Partout, vous trouverez la combinaison idéale entre la modernité et l’essence ancienne qu’elle a réussi à maintenir jusqu’à aujourd’hui.

Dans ses murs, vous trouverez des bâtiments spectaculaires qui témoignent des temps passés. Des structures sublimes comme le Palais des Papes, le Palais des Monnaies, la Cathédrale Notre-Dame-des-Doms ou le Musée du Petit Palais vous couperont le souffle par leur beauté intemporelle.

 

Nos activités à Avignon

Vous pouvez visiter de nombreux endroits pleins de charme à Avignon:

Le Palais des Papes qui se situe sur la Place du Palais Avignon est sans aucun doute le site incontournable de la visite de la ville. C’est une forteresse de style gothique qui a servi de résidence aux papes au 14ème siècle. Sa beauté architecturale est le cadre idéal pour vivre des moments inoubliables. Tout près du Palais des Papes se trouve la cathédrale Notre-Dame-des-Doms, dont la structure d’origine remonte au XIIe siècle. Depuis lors, elle a subi plusieurs modifications, mais elle conserve l’aura historique qui caractérise la ville.

La place qui entoure le palais offre également d’autres attractions architecturales d’une grande beauté. Profitez d’une visite culturelle du Musée du Petit Palais, une ancienne résidence d’archevêque qui fonctionne maintenant comme un musée de peinture et de sculpture aux œuvres exceptionnelles.

Le Rocher des Doms situé dans le lieu d’origine de la ville, est aujourd’hui devenu un magnifique jardin suspendu qui offre des vues spectaculaires sur le Rhône, qui enchanteront ceux qui le visitent. Le célèbre Pont d’Avignon offre un autre cadre idéal pour des promenades mémorables.

C’est l’une des rares villes françaises qui conserve encore son enceinte fortifiée. Les remparts d’Avignon sont un véritable spectacle qui s’étend sur plus de 4Km et offre aux touristes un aperçu du 14ème siècle.

Ses multiples portes et tours composent de belles images qui semblent figées dans le temps, pour offrir à ses visiteurs le cadre parfait pour voyager dans le passé. Le centre historique est un autre des endroits à ne pas manquer.

Promenez-vous dans ses rues et visitez des endroits comme la Place de l’Horloge, située au cœur de la ville. Si vous voulez profiter d’une vue inoubliable sur la ville, vous pouvez visiter le parc Rocher des Doms pour obtenir les meilleures vues panoramiques.

Bien sûr, vous ne pouvez pas manquer une visite au marché des Halles, pour vivre une expérience gastronomique exquise entre les mains de ses habitants.