Pétanque - a great Provençal game deformed in 1833

pètanque

Petanque is a famous traditional game in France that many citizens love and play. The game is similar to bowling as it involves throwing the ball at a marker. However, it differs from bowling in that it is not about breaking pins, but about defeating your opponent's balls.

The game was invented in 1907, in a village called "La Ciotat" but is still popular throughout France. In fact, there are two professional pétanque courts in the country where tournaments are held every year.

If you are interested in this French cultural game, you are in the right place. Here is everything you need to know about petanque and how to play it.

LA PÉTANQUE,WHAT DO YOU NEED TO PLAY?

The very first thing to understand is the different tools involved in this traditional game. Typically, metal balls are required by the players to throw. Meanwhile, wooden target balls called "jacks" serve as markers.

Petanque can be played between two opponents or a team of several people. If you play against one person, you will have three metal boules each. If you are playing as a team, you will have six boules each.

Another thing to note is that the metal balls must have the following features:

  • a maximum diameter of 8 cm
  • a minimum diameter of 7.05 cm
  • the weight should be 800g to 600g

HOW CAN YOU PLAY PÉTANQUE? 

Before the game starts, a 50cm circle is drawn on the field to ensure that players throw from the same distance. A throw is made to decide who starts the game. The player who wins this throw also gets to choose the position of the throw.

The position is marked by a rope, chalk, or a stick for reference. After that, the first player starts the game by throwing the jack. One thing to note is that the player will throw continuously until the wooden target reaches a suitable position to start the game.

First, the first player throws his metal ball so that it gets closer to the jack, then his opponent does the same. However, your goal is to make sure that your ball lands closer to the jack than your opponent's.

You should also avoid wasting time as each player has only one minute for each throw. The game continues until one player scores 13 points, thus winning the game.

WHY DO PEOPLE LIKE PÉTANQUE? 

Here are the reasons that can help you to understand why the French and other people from different countries like to play pétanque:

  • the game does not require any professional training
  • you don't have to worry about wearing specific clothes
  • there are no age restrictions
  • the game does not require running or making you sweat
  • you can throw the ball using any technique

FINAL WORDS: 

This is all you need to know about pétanque and its importance in France. It is also worth noting that people from more than 162 countries play the game. If you want to take part in these games during your stay in France, be sure to contact Planetazur!

 

If you wish to immerse yourself in the historical, natural and sporting beauties of France, visit our website, you won't regret it, I assure you, it is made for you, https://planetazur.com/activites-tours/, where you will find many itineraries and experiences that will make you completely love the region!

Share :

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
LinkedIn
en_USEnglish

La Pétanque – un jeu provençal

La pé  tanque est un célèbre jeu traditionnel en France que plusieurs citoyens aiment et y jouent. Le jeu est similaire au bowling car il implique de lancer la boule vers un marqueur. Cependant, il diffère du bowling car il ne s’agit de casser des quilles, mais de vaincre les boules de son adversaire.

Le jeu a été inventé en 1907, mais il est toujours populaire dans toute la France. D’ailleurs, il y a deux terrains de pétanque professionnels dans le pays où les tournois ont lieu chaque année.

Si vous êtes intéressés par ce jeu culturel français, vous êtes au bon endroit. Voici tout ce dont vous avez besoin concernant la pétanque et comment y jouer.

QU’AVEZ-VOUS BESOIN POUR JOUER A LA PÉTANQUE? 

La toute première chose à comprendre est les différents outils impliqués dans ce jeu traditionnel. Typiquement, les balles métalliques sont requises par les joueurs pour lancer. Pendant ce temps, les balles cibles en bois appelés “cochonnet” servent de marqueur.

La pétanque peut se jouer entre deux adversaires opposants soit une équipe de plusieurs personnes. Si vous jouez contre une personne, vous aurez trois boules métalliques chacune. Par contre, vous aurez six boules chacune si vous jouez en équipe.

Une autre chose à noter est que les boules métalliques doivent avoir les fonctionnalités suivantes:

  • un diamètre maximum de 8 cm
  • un diamètre minimum de 7.05 cm
  • le poids doit être de 800g à 600g

COMMENT POUVEZ-VOUS JOUER A LA PÉTANQUE? 

Avant le début du jeu, on dessine un cercle de 50cm sur le terrain pour s’assurer que les joueurs lancent à la même distance. Un lancer se fait pour décider qui commence le jeu. Le joueur qui gagne ce lancer a également le choix de la position du lancement.

Le positionnement est marqué par une corde, de la craie, ou d’un bâton à titre de référence. Après cela, le premier joueur commence le jeu en lançant le cochonnet. Une chose à noter est que le joueur lancera de façon continue jusqu’à ce que la cible en bois atteigne une position appropriée pour pouvoir démarrer le jeu.

Tout d’abord, le premier joueur lance sa boule métallique afin qu’elle s’approche du cochonnet, ensuite son adversaire fera la même chose. Cependant, votre but est de s’assurer que votre boule atterrit plus près du cochonnet que celle de votre adversaire.

Vous devriez également éviter de perdre du temps car chaque joueur ne dispose que d’une minute pour chaque lancer. Le jeu continue jusqu’à ce qu’un joueur marque 13 points, et gagne donc la partie.

POURQUOI LES GENS AIMENT LA PÉTANQUE? 

Voici les raisons qui peuvent vous aider à comprendre pourquoi les Français et les autres personnes de différents pays aiment jouer à la pétanque:

  • le jeu ne nécessite aucune formation professionnelle
  • vous n’avez pas à vous soucier de porter des vêtements spécifiques
  • il n’y a pas de restrictions d’âge
  • le jeu ne nécessite pas de course ou vous faire transpirer
  • vous pouvez lancer la boule en utilisant n’importe quelle technique

MOTS FINAL: 

Voilà tout ce dont vous avez besoin de savoir sur la pétanque et son importance en France. A savoir également que des personnes qui viennent de plus de 162 pays jouent à ce jeu. Si vous souhaitez participer à de tels jeux durant votre séjour en France, assurez-vous de contacter Planet Azur! 

Partager :

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
LinkedIn
fr_FRFrench